How Do You Take a Picture of These?

I learned something new! I already told you about “wanderlust,” but there is still something I would like to share that will benefit your everyday photography a great deal.

These are techniques one use to photograph the common subjects of photography. Have you ever tried to take a picture of the raindrops with your phone, only to find that you can’t capture much other than the background? Here is help to capture seemingly the impossible.

Wind: Seriously, how do you photograph wind? After all, wind cannot be seen directly (unless you are in the middle of a sandstorm, blizzard, or a hurricane), but they play such a big role in influencing our feelings that it would be nice to record it through photography. I did some research and thought a while about it. I remember once reading a story in elementary school about the little girl trying to draw wind. After consulting her parents, she learns that wind, though not directly seen, influence the position and the orientation of everyday object. The waving flag, the dandelion in the air, the waves on bodies of water are but some examples.

This is supported by my striking images of wind found on the Internet.

Here is an images of a windy day.

beach-1853091_1920

 

See the swaying leaves and the waves? Really dynamic objects make the illusion of wind come to life. On the other hand, though there is no way I can convey the comfort of the summer breeze by having wind blowing out of the photograph, the trick is to photograph yourself, since you have the emotions, and emotions jump out of photos. Consider yourself a medium through which the power of wind shows itself.

If you enjoy photographing objects, here are the tips: get really close, so that when your camera focuses, the background gets blurred a bit. In my experience, any blur contribute to the feelings of having wind around. Small and light subjects, such as leaves swaying, are especially effective in showing the breeze.

girl-1488663_1920

Action: It is sort of ironic that we hope to capture motion by freezing an image. In most cameras, there is a Sports mode that prevents moving object from becoming blurry in photographs when they are moving. What if we want to give viewer the illusion of movement, as the subject gives the photographers?

We will introduce motion blur. From my experience, this effect is not directly attainable through default camera apps in android or IOS. An additional free third party app is needed. I had great success with Camera FV5 Lite on Android. On iPhone, VSCO Cam is also one that will be suitable for this purpose. I understand that it can be quite hard to convince people to download a new app, but you will soon see it makes the humble-looking smart-phone appear almost as powerful as a DSLR (in this post, I don’t want to get into the details about these opportunities just yet). Plus, you can always delete the app if you find it unsuitable.

After you have that, it’s easy… Set the shutter speed to half a second, traces any moving object, and press capture. Now do it again using auto mode. What difference do you notice? What happens as you go closer to the object?

That’s for you to try. Thank you for keeping up with my blog.

4 Replies to “How Do You Take a Picture of These?”

    1. I think all the techniques about mobile photography I have gathered serve a purpose–to see and capture the big, the small, and the important stuff around us. The posts I have shared provide an “excuse” to go out and explore, and that’s my favorite part. I would say I enjoy sharing good info I found with others, too. Don’t you think all bloggers like that?

      Liked by 1 person

  1. This was an interesting post. I had never thought about the challenges of capturing something like wind on camera before. What are some of your favourite things to take pictures of?

    Like

    1. Thank you for your appreciation! After I started getting into photography, I took pictures of different parts of the city that I find interesting. Consequently, many of my favorite pictures are architectural photography or photos about nature. Thanks for asking!

      Like

Leave a Reply

